I Have a Middle Name.

A.
2 min readMay 20, 2024

Do you know that, I used to tell people my name consists of only two words?

First, and last.

But you came. And I gladly told you every name people call me, every name I go by, every name of mine I prefer to be called by. My name.

First, middle, and last.

That I used to be secretive of when there’s an ice breaking session, when it’s time to introduce myself to new people.

Who would’ve thought one day I’d be thrilled about a name of mine? Surely not me.

But you came. And made me finally adore it.

A name I never tried giving a deep thought about.

Its spelling, its meaning, who came up with it.

Do you know that, I went around finally feeling

fine in telling people my full name when you came?

Do you know that, after you…. I have stopped doing so?

Now, hearing it being called stings a little sometimes.

Do you know that, I would still turn around if someone middle-names me, and I recognise it’s your voice?

Only if it’s you.

Do you know that, I am trying so hard every single day to remember what you looked like, to remember what you sounded like, to remember how you did you?

But I still remember vividly how you liked my middle name, and I loved being called that by just you.

Now, when people middle-name me, I get furious sometimes. Because it stings a little. Very little. Stings, still.

Do you notice that, I stopped telling people I have a middle name?

I am living a life on first name basis, again.

And somehow, I was hoping you’d come back and make me fall in love again.

With you, with life, with my middle name.

I was hoping you’d come back and remind me that I have a middle name.

--

--